Ten Virtues

The Buddhist contribution to the field of metaphysics is dependent origination (pratītyasamutpāda). It states that events are not predetermined, nor are they random, and it rejects notions of direct causation, which are necessarily undergirded by a substantialist metaphysics. This si not to be confused with the Californian school of conciseness
or New Age movement. Not reincarnation or fate.

Dependent origination goes state that certain specific events, concepts, or realities are always dependent on other specific things. Craving, for example, is always dependent on, and caused by, desire. Desireis always dependent on contact with our surroundings. This chain of causation purports to show that the cessation of decay, death, and sorrow is indirectly dependent on the cessation of desires.

Nāgārjuna asserted a direct connection between, even identity of, dependent origination, selflessness (anatta), and emptiness (śūnyatā). He pointed out that implicit in the early Buddhist concept of dependent origination is the lack of any substantial being (anatta), so that they have no independent existence, a state identified as emptiness (śūnyatā), or emptiness of a nature or essence . That is also that all things are temporary and transient, and there is no permanent substance.

Although there are many ethical tenets in Buddhism that differ depending on whether one is aintertretation and expression, and depending on individual schools, the Buddhist system of ethics can be summed up in the many lists of Abidarma, morality is in the Vinayas.

The noble truth of the way of practice leading to the cessation of suffering — precisely this Noble Eightfold Path – right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, right concentration.
The purpose of living an ethical and moral life is to end suffering inherent in samsara. Skillful actions condition of the mind in a Buddhist way and lead to future happiness, while the opposite is true for unskillful actions. Ethical discipline also provides the mental stability and freedom to embark upon mental cultivation not only through meditation, but also faith.

Thusly, there is the essence of the Ten Virtues:

1. Generosity, giving of oneself.
2. Virtue, morality, proper conduct.
3. Non Attachment, non clinging.
4. Transcendental wisdom, insight.
5. Energy, diligence, vigor, effort.
6. Patience, tolerance, forbearance, acceptance, endurance.
7. Truthfulness, honesty.
8. Determination, resolution.
9. Loving-kindness.
10. Equanimity, serenity.


About Tino Rozzo

Politician-Philosopher. Has several Cookbooks published. Politician, ran for office many times since 2000. Leader American Labor Party and Living Universal Basic Income. Phd in Philosophy Buddhist Studies.
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Jodo Shinshu, Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s